Buying and selling…

thConsuela (my Tejana maid) has suddenly embraced capitalism. She announced to me that she was buying up a particular commodity in order to sell at an eventual profit.

“Gold? Silver?” I asked.

She shook her head.

“St John’s Wort tablets,” she replied. In answer to my raised eyebrows, she continued: “Gram for gram, they are worth more than scrap silver or gold. I’m buying them up, hand-over-fist, and when Holland & Barrett’s ‘buy-one-get-one-for-a-penny’ promotion finishes, I’ll be flogging them on Ebay for less than the non-promo shelf-price. I’ll make a pile!”

I nodded.

There has to be a flaw somewhere in her grasp of economics, but I’m beggared if I can see it at the moment…

Leave a Reply

